Philadelphia ~ A Weak Church

You’ve Got Mail…What Jesus says to the churches

What Jesus says to a weak church…find your strength and opportunity in Jesus (Rev. 3:7-13).

Jesus reminds them who He is: “He who is holy, He who is true, He who has the key of David, He who opens and no one shuts, and shuts and no one opens” (v.7)

Jesus wants to bring comfort in fresh doses. We all have times of doubt and discouragement, wondering if He is hearing us or seeing what we are going through?? YES!!! He is hearing and does see what we are going through. He is faithful.  He can be depended on.

Jesus can give influence and give whatever He wants! He who opens and no one shuts, and shuts and no one opens.

Jesus has total knowledge. “I know your works. See, I have set before you an open door, and no one can shut it; for you have a little strength, have kept My word, and have not denied My name” (v8).

The challenge for the church is the challenge of perspective…Stay faithful to God! “Indeed, I will make those of the synagogue of Satan, who say they are Jews and are not, but lie ~ indeed I will make them come and worship before your feet, and to know that I have loved you. Because you have kept My command to persevere, I also will keep you from the hour of trial which shall come upon the whole world, to test those who dwell on the earth” (v9-10).

Therefore by the deeds of the law no flesh shall be justified in His sight, for by the law is the knowledge of sin (Romans 3:20).

Kinds of churches similar to churches today:

1. The bigger is better church…More numbers, programs, emotions.

2. The busier is better church…Volunteer events, programs, etc. Never confuse activity for productivity.

3. The smaller is better church…Stay small and get holier.

4. The simple is better church…Be obedient to what God would have you doing.

The strength of the church is not measured by seating capacity, but by standing capacity. Simple consistency, hold on, be dependable, stay consistent.

Know how to keep it simple (KISs)

1. Take notice of your situation…The real situation around you. Your not in denial.

Therefore let him who thinks he stand take heed lest he fall (1 Cor. 10:12).

2. Take responsibility…Overcome times of discouragement. Hold on! “Behold, I am coming quickly! Hold fast what you have, that no one can take your crown” (v.11).

But as for you, brethren, do not grow weary in doing good (1 Thess. 3:13).

3. Take heart…Jesus is coming to you and saying, you are Mine! “He who overcomes, I will make him a pillar in the temple of My God, and he shall go out no more. I will write on him the name of My God, and the name of the city of My God, the New Jerusalem, which comes down out of heaven from My God. And I will write on him My new name” (v.112).

We are His, our strength and opportunity lies on Him, not culture, bigger churches, busier churches, smaller churches, simple churches or people.

When we are weak, He is strong.

He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches v. 13).

Leave a Reply

